The 5th International LafargeHolcim Awards will close on March 21, 2017 at 14:00 UTC.

The USD 2 million competition seeks sustainable construction projects at an advanced stage of design from the fields of architecture, building and civil engineering; landscape and urban design; as well as materials, products and construction technologies.

The competition also features a Next Generation category for the visions and ideas of young professionals and students. It is open to authors up to 30 years of age.

Organised by the LafargeHolcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction, the world’s most significant competition in sustainable design takes place in parallel across five geographic regions.

The independent juries are headed by Harry Gugger (Europe), Ray Cole (North America), Angelo Bucci (Latin America), Nagwa Sherif (Middle East Africa) and Donald Bates (Asia Pacific).

Entries are evaluated using the “target issues” for sustainable construction – assessing submissions against environmental, social, and economic performance; in addition to recognizing the need for innovation and contextual impact.

Participation in the Awards is free of charge.
Infrastructure Space: lifeblood of the spaces we inhabit
The sustainability of infrastructure must be regarded as key in reorienting our ways of inhabiting the globe.

To enrich this dialog, the LafargeHolcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction supported a 420-page book edited by Ilka Ruby and Andreas Ruby.

The publication contains a collection of 25 essays inspired by the 5th International LafargeHolcim Forum for Sustainable Construction. With contributions by: Marc Angélil, Tom Avermaete, Claudia Bode, Neil Brenner, Ricky Burdett, François Charbonnet, Nancy Couling, Salmaan Craig, Dilip da Cunha, Carlotta Darò, Michael Dear, Keller Easterling, Paul N Edwards, Ross Exo Adams, Rania Ghosn, El Hadi Jazairy, Julia King, Jesse LeCavalier, Carlos Lopes, Charlotte Malterre-Barthes, Anuradha Mathur, Miho Mazereeuw, Rahul Mehrotra, Henk Ovink, Christian Schmid, Cary Siress, Laurent Stalder, Sven Stremke, Georges Teyssot, Geoffrey Thün, Milica Topalović, Yoshiharu Tsukamoto, Simon Upton, Diane Van Buren, Kathy Velikov, Felipe Vera, Jason Young; and a Visual Atlas of Infrastructure by Something Fantastic.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here